top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureR.W. Martin

REVELATION

Not the last book of the Bible, not the band, not the Children of the Corn movie. But a personal revelation. In life we start out relying on others to teach us right from wrong. But what if sometimes what others think is right and wrong, only works for them? I have spent my life as I'm sure some of you have, learning taking various teachings and finding truth somewhere in the middle. If 999 people say the color is Blue and one says green, doesn't make the one person wrong. But by simple deduction I'll say ok it's Blue. Because the ratio pretty much proves it's blue. If 500 say Blue and 500 say green well that's a lot more difficult to find a middle ground. I have also learned its always been easy for me to give people advice as to what choices they should make because it's obvious to me, but when I am faced with those exact same decisions, I never take the advice I just gave to someone else. I was brought up to forgive and forget, but have found that difficult many times. I had a very good friend, we had a disagreement, I tried fixing it, they didn't want to so, I became cold and bitter. I said $#@% it and moved on. I cut them out of my life, I tried several times to fix it, they weren't interested, again I was like who cares, $#@% em their loss not mine.


Recently they contacted me my first reaction was %$#@ it I tried you didn't care then, I don't care now, but that's where the revelation comes in. I look at the world and see hate and division, one cop does something we condemn all cops, one muslim does something we condemn all muslims, hate, hate, hate, hate, it gets us no where. So I started thinking of all the good times we had, and what we all lost because of this disagreement. It was pretty silly, yes we said things that hurt each other, things we can't take back, but why would we? We were mad, upset, we meant them, we can't change it. But our friends and family, real friends and family are suppose to "Forgive and Forget" isn't this what I wanted all along? Just because I was ready to move on maybe they weren't but now they are.


Things don't always work out when you what them to, or how you want them to, but when the opportunity presents itself that might be your only chance. So I put the stuff behind me moved up, and became a better person for it. We can never go back, but we can go forward, it may be difficult but sometimes, you gotta just start again like it's the first time and learn from your mistakes. I'm not much of a blogger, just hoping I can use this wise old mans mistakes to help someone else along the way. - life is too short, be the best "You" you can be while your here - R.W. Martin



16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

EXODUS

Not the second book from the bible, not the band, not the movie, but my Exodus from many things. I've been at this entertainment thing since 1986. Although I've been literally doing this since birth,

GENESIS

Not the first chapter of The Bible, not the band starring Phil Collins, not the planet from Star Trek III, but my first post on this page. This is where is starts and perhaps finishes, who knows? Anyw

bottom of page