top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureR.W. Martin

EXODUS

Not the second book from the bible, not the band, not the movie, but my Exodus from many things. I've been at this entertainment thing since 1986. Although I've been literally doing this since birth, 1986, was the year I stepped on stage for the first time (not counting stage crew in high school, that was not acting) I was part of a variety show in Waterbury Vermont, where I was "Weird Al" to a standing ovation, that day, I knew, I knew that bringing joy to people, making them laugh, making them forget their problems, was what I wanted to do with my life and I haven't stopped since that day. For over 45 years I have sponged, TV, Movies, Comedians, Actors, Musicians, Singers, anything and everything popular, storing it all in my, now failing memory banks, so at a moments notice, I can use my quick wit and vast catalog of material to make someone smile.


So many mentors, so many idols, so many performers I looked up to, to name them all, well I would accidentally leave someone out for sure, but I will mention a few. Elvis was the first, singer, actor, dancer, good looking, humble, kind. At a very early age he was the one, he made me want to do want he did, but alas, I can't sing, can't really dance (although I fake it pretty good) not so good looking either. Growing up the Television was my learning tool, watching studying, The Carol Burnett Show, Tim Conway in particular, at that time he was "The Man". Don Knotts, Don Adams, Jackie Gleason, Art Carney, Dean Martin, Jerry Lewis, Rich Little, The Stooges, The Marx Brothers, Abbot and Costello, Red Foxx, Dick Van Dyke, Gene Wilder, Richard Pryor, Carol O'Conner, the list goes on and on, which brings me to my second Idol.


Robin Williams, he was the master, I looked up to him, he could improv his way out of anything. He was who I wanted to be like. In 1983 my Big Brother, Tom Howard brought me to the set of "The Survivors". Robin was filming at Joe's Cabin in Vermont, and was going to do a benefit show for the St. Johnsbury youth service bureau. Tom was the Director of the Washington County Youth Service Bureau. We arrived at the set on a cold winter morning and parked his yellow VW Bug at the bottom of a quarter mile hill. We walked up the hill and Tom approached the director and explained who he was, I waited about 30 feet away. While Tom was talking to the Director Robin came out of the cabin about 30 feet behind them. There he was 60 feet away, Robin Williams, my idol, Mork from Ork, I couldn't believe he was right there. He approached the director and they exchanged some words. Then he looked at me and motioned for me to come over, I was like Oh My GOD, I'm going to meet Robin Williams. when I got halfway there, he pulled the Uzi off his shoulder pointed it at me and said "One more move and you're dead, this is a closed set" I stopped proceeding to back up and reply, "I'm sorry, I though you said come here" Robin said "I'm kidding I'm Robin Williams".


I could tell you story, upon story, upon story, of celebrity meetings and how blessed I have been since that day. Perhaps another post I'll talk about another. But these people listed above and the hundreds and thousand more that I didn't list, were my inspiration. They inspire me to carry on their legacy in someway, carry the torch until I am no longer able to. So I will continue the task of making the world laugh, making the world forget its problems, even if it's only for but a moment.


So my Exodus is is merely this I'm leaving behind all the negativity, all the should of, could of, would of's and moving forward into the positive. Moving into the. I can, I will, I must !!! I thank you all for your support, and kind words. Some of you have been part of this since 1986 and before, thanks for sticking with me. Some of you have decided to move on, can't blame you, no hard feelings. But I will say this It's coming, all of it, everything I've worked for, it's right around the corner, it's been a wild ride, but the next ride is about to begin, so if you haven't, get your ticket now, before it's too late. God Bless - R.W. Martin


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

REVELATION

Not the last book of the Bible, not the band, not the Children of the Corn movie. But a personal revelation. In life we start out relying on others to teach us right from wrong. But what if sometimes

GENESIS

Not the first chapter of The Bible, not the band starring Phil Collins, not the planet from Star Trek III, but my first post on this page. This is where is starts and perhaps finishes, who knows? Anyw

bottom of page